Brielle Syewart OCBMAGONLINE.COM
Cannabis is gaining ground around the United States, As of today 34 states plus Washington D.C. have adopted some version of their own medical marijuana program. 11 states plus Washington D.C. have approved adult use recreational use. CBD, the most popular form of cannabis extract is now legal nationwide thanks to the farm bill of 2018. Here are a listing of the states and their current laws regarding Cannabis:
Alabama has limited medical use for patients. Hemp-derived CBD with no more than 0.3% THC on a dry-weight basis can be sold, produced or purchased legally in the state of Alabama.
Alaska allows adult use recreational and medical usage in the State. Adults may possess up to 1oz of cannabis under Alaska law. In the state of Alaska home grow is permitted.
Arizona has only allowed for Medical Marijuana use only. Patients with Arizona State Cannabis ID cards can purchase up to 2.5 ounces within a 14 day period. Patients are allowed all forms of medical cannabis including flower, edibles, topicals, suppositories, tinctures and pills.
Arkansas has has allowed for medical use as of today. To date over thirty dispensaries are open. Arkansas has also approved the licenses for 5 marijuana cultivation facilities as of today. No home grow is permitted.
California which has some of the most liberal cannabis laws on the west coast, California allows Adult use Recreational and Medical use. Medical patients in California can purchase up to a “Whooping” 8ozs which in California has no sales tax or use tax. Adult Rec patients can purchase up to 1 oz. California permits home grow.
In beautiful Colorado adult recreational use an medical use are permitted. Recreational partakers may possess up to 1 oz and Medical patients up to 2 oz. Colorado totally allows home cultivation.
The State of Connecticut only has made provisions for medical use only. Patients in Connecticut may only purchase up to 2.5 ounces in a given month. Home grow is not permitted in Connecticut.
Delaware allows for medical use only. Patients possessing a state medical card may purchase up to 3ozs in a two week period. In Delaware it’s important to note that medical cannabis is not taxed. Home grow is not permitted in Delaware.
Washington D.C. (District of Columbia)
Washington DC allows for adult use recreational use and medical use. Patients in DC may purchase up to 4 ozs every 30 days. Home grow is permitted in Washington DC.
The state of Florida has made provisions for medical use only. In Florida patients can purchase up to a 70 day supply. The supply would be determined by the patients physician. In Florida home grow is not legal.
Georgia is working to get an established state medical cannabis distribution system. Potential patients in GA will have low-dose extracts. No home grow is allowed in GA.
Patients who possess a MMJ card may purchase up to 4 ozs in a 2 week period. Hawaii has up to 13 qualifying conditions. Home grow is permitted in Hawaii until more dispensaries are up and running then home grow will be phased out.
No adult use or medical permitted… Enough said.
Illinois residents are rejoicing…. As of January 1, 2020 Illinois residents at or above age 21 may possess up to 30 grams of cannabis. Illinois has both adult use recreational and medical marijuana usage. Home grow rules and regulations are still being formulated and will be put into place in late 2020.
In Indiana a patient may purchase hemp derived CBD oil. The hemp oil purchased may only contain 0.3% THC or less. No home grow is allowed.
Iowa has allowed for 15 medical conditions to date. Patients in Iowa must possess a CBD medical card to use at one the states 5 dispensaries. No home grow is permitted.
Residents of the great state of Kansas can purchase and possess CBD products only. No home grow is permitted.
Kentucky patients can obtain CBD products with no more than 0.3% with a written order from a physician. State Rep. Cluster Howard a Democrat from Jackson, Ky who represents the 91st District in Eastern Kentucky, recently introduced a bill that would fully legalize cannabis recreationally throughout the state. We’ll keep you posted on recreational legalization in Kentucky. No home grow permitted.
Medical use is permitted in Louisiana. A months supply of non-smokable cannabis preparations are allowed. Louisiana allows for 16 medical conditions to qualify for medical use. Home grow is not permitted.
Adult use recreational and medical use permitted. Patients in the great state of Maine may possess up to 2.5ozs. Medical cards are not required in Maine. Patients in Maine may use cannabis for any condition for which it can provide therapeutic relief. Home grow is allowed.
Medical use is permitted. Maryland permits physicians to recommend cannabis for any symptom it can help alleviate. Patients may purchase up to 120 grams in a 30 day period. No home grow is permitted.
Adult use and medical use is permitted in Massachusetts. Patients can purchase up to a 60 day supply tax free from a state licensed dispensary. Adult use consumers can possess up to 1 ounce in public. Home cultivation is permitted.
Adult use and medical use is permitted. Adults in Michigan may possess 2.5 ounces of cannabis. Patients who possess a card may cultivate cannabis or purchase up to 2.5 ounces as well. Right now, Michigan has 13 qualifying conditions.
Medical use is permitted in Minnesota. Minnesota has 8 dispensaries throughout the state and 13 qualifying conditions for medical cannabis. Home grow is not an option to date.
Mississippi has limited medical use. By that we mean a patient must have a debilitating or epileptic condition. No home grow is permitted.
Medical use is permitted in the “Show-me-state” of Missouri. Medical cannabis licenses will be awarded in January 2020 and products arriving in spring/summer. Patients can purchase up to 4 ounces in one month. Physicians may recommend cannabis for any condition and home grow is permitted up to 6 plants.
Medical use is permitted in Montana. Patients may possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis. Montana has approved up to 12 qualifying conditions. Home grow is allowed.
No adult use or medical permitted… Enough said.
Adult use and medical use are permitted in Nevada. Adults may possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis. Medical patients can purchase up to 2.5ounces of cannabis. Home cultivation is allowed.
Medical use is permitted from the 4 state runs centers. Patients can purchase up to 2 ounces per 10 day period. The state has allowed for 22 qualifying conditions. Home grow is not permitted.
Medical use is permitted in New Jersey. Patients may purchase up to 2 ounces per 30 day period. New Jersey allows for 8 qualifying conditions. Home grow is not permitted.
Medical use is permitted in New Mexico. Patients may purchase up to 8 ounces every 90 days. The state has approved more than 20 qualifying conditions. Home grow is permitted.
In Gotham City medical use is permitted. Medical professionals make an evaluation of how much a cannabis a patient can receive in a 30 day period. New York has allowed for 20 or more conditions. Home grow is not allowed in New York State.
The state of North Carolina has a very limited medical use program. The program is not slated to start until 2021. Stay tuned…..
Medical use is permitted in North Dakota. Patients may purchase up to 2.5 ounces in a month. North Dakota has allowed for 19 qualifying conditions. No home grow allowed.
Medical use is permitted in Ohio. Once the program in Ohio is fully up and running there will be 56 dispensaries around the state. 30 of which are up and running currently. Ohio has allowed for 21 qualifying conditions with open dialogue of more to come. Patients in Ohio may purchase up to 8 ounces per 90 day period. No home grow is allowed.
Medical use is permitted in Oklahoma. There are no purchase limits for patients. Patients may possess up to 3 ounces at a time. There are no qualifying conditions in Oklahoma and physicians may recommend cannabis as they see fit and within medical guidelines. No home grow is permitted.
Adult use recreational and medical use is permitted in the state of Oregon. Adults may purchase up to 1 ounce per day with a cap of 32 ounces a month. Home grow is permitted.
Medical use is permitted in Pennsylvania. Patients may possess a 30 day supply. Recreational cannabis could soon be coming to the Keystone State. That’s if Pennsylvania lawmakers Daylin Leach and Sharif Street can muster enough support for their latest proposal. The state senators introduced Senate Bill 350 on Oct. 15. The bill would allow for both home delivery and the automatic expungement of many previous criminal convictions related to marijuana. Stay tuned to ocbmagonline for more details in coming months. Home cultivation is permitted.
Medical use is permitted in Rhode Island. Patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces. Home grow is allowed and a single patient can grow up to 24 marijuana plants under their roof without obtaining a license from the state.
Limited medicinal use is permitted in the palmetto state. No home grow permitted.
No adult use or medical permitted… Enough said.
Limited medicinal use is permitted in the “Volunteer” State. With strict guidelines. No home grow permitted.
Limited medicinal use is permitted in Texas. Low THC cannabis (0.5%) and 10% or more CBD are available for registered patients with epilepsy and their caregivers. Texas has 3 medical dispensaries. No home grow permitted.
Medical use of cannabis is permitted in Utah. Utah will have seven state run pharmacies which are set to open in March 2020. No home grow is permitted.
Adult use recreational and medical use are permitted in Vermont. Adults in Vermont are allowed to grow, possess and consume cannabis. Vermont has 5 medical dispensaries. Patients may possess up to 2 ounces of cannabis. Vermont also has 12 qualifying conditions for medical patients. Home grow is permitted.
The state of Virginia has limited medical use. Patients with a physician recommendation may purchase up to a 90 day supply of CBD or THC-A extracts. Virginia has no home grow.
Adult use and medical use are permitted in Washington state. Adults may purchase up to one ounce daily. Patients may purchase up to 3 ounces daily. Washington has 16 qualifying conditions for patients. Regulation of medical and adult use cannabis is the job of The Washington state liquor and cannabis board. Home grow is not permitted in Washington.
Medical use is permitted in West Virginia. Dispensaries are not operational but once dispensaries are up and running, A patient can purchase up to a 30 day supply of cannabis. West Virginia allows for 15 qualifying conditions. No home is grow is permitted.
Limited medical use is permitted in the state of Wisconsin. Only persons who suffer from seizures may receive CBD products prescribed by their physician. No home grow is permitted.
Limited medical use is permitted in Wyoming. Patients with intractable epilepsy and suffering form seizures are allowed to possess CBD extracts made from industrial hemp. No home grow is permitted.